Paintings · Ponderings

“Hopping Home”: One of a Series

Mary insists I name my paintings, so I call this one “Hopping Home.” While we were living in Manhattan we occasionally came across chalked hopscotch diagrams in Riverside Park or even on the sidewalks of side streets. I never saw one in front of a department store, but it could happen. What intrigued me was the way a hopscotch diagram left on the sidewalk tempted grown women to revisit their childhoods by hopping a square or two. (I have seen this happen.) I put mannequins in the display windows to emphasize the physical reality of the woman to the artificiality of the mannequins who know nothing of childhood or of the passage of time.

4 thoughts on ““Hopping Home”: One of a Series

  1. Guilty of hopping home. Always hop if I come upon the chalked hopscotch. Got to use it before the rain comes. Wonderful painting.

    Like

  2. This was my Mom. All the time ! Dressed for work, church, anything. See a hopscotch board. Grab a pebble. Toss and hop!
    Xoxoxo!
    Thank you for the smile. I’m going to forward the blog to her!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.